Health Related Toll-Free Numbers and Websites

This list is provided by the Washington Physicians Directory. Our 2019 edition included 13,287 MDs and DOs, 2,578 for the first time, and over 2,830 listing changes. If you need to stay in touch with the Washington area’s medical community, you need the Washington Physicians Directory.

The National Health Information Center, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, can refer the caller to 800 lines offering information on everything from childbirth to aging.  Its database includes almost 1,000  health groups.  Call: 800-336-4797
Hotline staffers say it is best to call early in the day when phone lines are less busy and to have ready a list of specific questions.  You may also write to National Health Information Center, P.O. Box 1133, Washington, DC 20013-1133.  Some toll-free health lines:
ABCD After Breast Cancer Diagnosis www.abcdbreastcancersupport.org
800-977-4121
Academy of Nutrition & Dietetics.  www.eatright.org
800-877-1600
AIDS\HIV National Hotline at CDC  www.ashastd.org
800-232-4636
AIDS\HIV Project Inform HIV Health InfoLine   www.projectinform.org
800-822-7422
Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality  www.ahrq.gov
800-358-9295
Alcohol & Drug Treatment Referrals  www.spencerrecovery.com
800-334-0394
Alzheimer’s Disease Education & Referral Ctr.  www.nia.nih.gov
800-438-4380
Alzheimer’s Assn.  www.alz.org
800-272-3900
American Academy of Facial Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery
www.aafprs.org
American Assn. of Kidney Patients  www.aakp.org
800-749-2257
American Assn. of Retired Persons  www.aarp.org
888-687-2277
American Behcet’s Disease Assn.  www.behcets.com
800-7-BEHCET
American Board of Medical Specialties  www.abms.org
866-275-2267
American Brain Tumor Assn.  www.abta.org
800-886-2282
American Cancer Society  www.cancer.org
800-227-2345
American Childhood Cancer Organization  www.acco.org
855-858-2226
American Chiropractic Assn.  www.acatoday.com
800-986-4636
American Council on Exercise  www.acefitness.org
888-825-3636
American Diabetes Assn.  www.diabetes.org
800-342-2383
American Heart Assn.  www.americanheart.org
800-AHA-USA-1
American Institute for Preventive Medicine  www.healthylife.com
800-345-2476
American Kidney Fund  www.kidneyfund.org
800-638-8299
American Liver Foundation  www.liverfoundation.org
800-GO-LIVER
American Lung Assn.  www.lungusa.org
800-LUNG-USA
American Osteopathic Assn.  www.osteopathic.org
800-621-1773
American Parkinson’s Disease Assn.  www.apdaparkinson.org
800-223-2732
American Podiatric Medical Assn.  www.apma.org
800-ASKAPMA
American Red Cross  www.redcross.org
800-733-2767
American Running Assn.  www.americanrunning.org
800-776-2732
American Social Health Assn.  www.ashastd.org
800-232-4636
American Society for Dermatologic Surgery  www.asds.net
American Tinnitus Assn.  www.ata.org
800-634-8978
American Urological Assn. Foundation   www.urologyhealth.org
800-828-7866
Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis Assn.  www.alsa.org
800-782-4747
Arthritis Foundation  www.arthritis.org
800-283-7800
Asthma & Allergy Foundation of America  www.aafa.org
800-7-ASTHMA
Autism Society of America  www.autism-society.org
800-328-8476
Blood Donations  www.redcross.org
800-GIVELIFE
Bright Focus Foundation  www.brightfocus.org
800-437-2423
Cancer Hotline & R.A. Bloch Cancer Foundation  www.blochcancer.org
800-433-0464
Cancer Info Service at Nat’l Cancer Institute  www.cancer.gov
800-4-CANCER
Chemical Illness Information & Support  www.chemicalinjury.net
Children’s Organ Transplant Assn.  www.cota.org
800-366-2682
The Children’s Tumor Foundation  www.ctf.org
800-323-7938
Chronic Fatigue Syndrome  www.cdc.gov
800-232-4636
Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation of America  www.ccfa.org
800-932-2423
Cystic Fibrosis Foundation  www.cff.org
800-FIGHT-CF
Eldercare Locator  www.eldercare.gov
800-677-1116
Epilepsy Foundation of America  www.epilepsyfoundation.org
800-332-1000
First Candle\Sids Alliance  www.firstcandle.org
800-221-7437
Foundation Fighting Blindness  www.blindness.org
800-683-5555
Genetic Alliance  www.geneticalliance.org
800-336-GENE
Herpes Resource Center www.ashastd.org
800-230-6039
Huntington’s Disease Society of America  www.hdsa.org
800-345-HDSA
Immunization National Hotline at CDC (English)  www.cdc.gov
800-232-4636
International Foundation for Functional Gastrointestinal Disorders  www.iffgd.org
888-964-2001
Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation  www.jdrf.org
800-533-2873
Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation  www.komen.org
877-465-6636
Leukemia and Lymphoma Society of America  www.lls.org
800-955-4572
Lung Cancer Alliance  www.lungcanceralliance.org
800-298-2436
Lung Line (National Jewish Health)  www.njc.org
800-222-5864
Malignant Hyperthermia Assn.  www.mhaus.org
800-644-9737
Medic Alert Foundation International  www.medicalert.org
888-633-4298
Medicare Hotline  www.medicare.gov
800-MEDICARE
Mental & Substance Abuse Info.  www.health.org
800-729-6686
Mothers Against Drunk Driving  www.madd.org
800-GET-MADD
Multiple Sclerosis Assn. of America  www.msaa.com
800-532-7667
National Alliance on Mental Illness Information Helpline  www.nami.org
800-950-NAMI
National Association for Continence  www.nafc.org
800-252-3337
National Center for Stuttering  www.stuttering.com
National Children’s Cancer Society  www.children-cancer.org
800-532-6459
National Down Syndrome Society  www.ndss.org
800-221-4602
National Fibromyalgia Partnership, Inc.  www.fmpartnership.org
National Foundation for Transplants  www.transplants.org
800-489-3863
National Headache Foundation  www.headaches.org
888-643-5552
National Hemophilia Foundation  www.hemophilia.org
800-424-2634
National Lead Info Center  www.epa.gov\lead
800-424-LEAD
National Library of Medicine  www.nlm.nih.gov
888-FINDNLM
National Organization for Rare Disorders  www.rarediseases.org
800-999-6673
National Osteoporosis Foundation Information Help Line  www.nof.org
800-231-4222
National Prevention Info Network  www.cdcnpin.org
800-458-5231
National Psoriasis Foundation  www.psoriasis.org
800-723-9166
National Rosacea Society  www.rosacea.org
888-662-5874
National Safety Council  www.nsc.org
800-621-7615
National Spinal Cord Injury Assn.  www.spinalcord.org
800-962-9629
Pancreatic Cancer Action Network  www.pancan.org
877-272-6226
Planned Parenthood Federation of America  www.plannedparenthood.org
800-230-7526
Prevent Blindness America  www.preventblindness.org
800-331-2020
Christopher & Dana Reeve Paralysis Foundation  www.christopherreeve.org
800-225-0292
Sickle Cell Disease Assn. of America  www.sicklecelldisease.org
800-421-8453
Spina Bifida Assn. of America  www.sbaa.org
800-621-3141
Spondylitis Assn. of America  www.spondylitis.org
800-777-8189
Stuttering Foundation of America  www.stutteringhelp.org
800-992-9392
Texas Back Institute  www.texasback.com
800-247-2225
Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance  www.tsalliance.org
800-225-6872
United Cerebral Palsy Assn.  www.ucp.org
800-872-5827